Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

After being hounded by her estranged father just as her boutique shoe business is taking off, Atlanta’s Angelita Barros heads for the mountains of North Carolina where she couldn’t be a bigger fish out of water. The cabin she rents is perfect but one look at the owner’s son and Angelita’s in lust big time. She finds resisting the charming Jesse Bloodworth as difficult as maneuvering small town life in her custom made stilettos.

Jesse has spent years rebuilding his relationship with his teenaged son an ex-wife after running out on them eleven years ago. But his dad’s not so quick to forgive and forget. The water under the bridge becomes might choppy when beautiful Angelita walks into their lives.

Jesse’s ex, Kerri Ann, is a far dry from where she thought she’d be in life. Even before she got pregnant with Ty, things between her and Jesse had faltered, and there was only one person to blame, Bryce Jenson. Kerri Ann never expected her long-ago crush to settle back into Sequoyah Falls to practice law. Hell, no one did.

Bryce had his reasons for returning home and Kerri Ann was at the very top. They seemed destined to remain just friends, until Angelita comes to town and stirs everything up.

As Angelita and Jesse and embark on a relationship, her father’s demands become threats and she’s forced back to Atlanta. Jesse’s attempt to save her uncovers more of her past than he bargained for. Will Angelita’s prince charming come to her rescue or does Jesse’s love come with Shoe Strings attached?

Shoe Strings” – what a tangled web is one of the first thoughts after reading this outstanding book. Hayes flawlessly tangles the lives of 6 people in this page turning novel. The attitude of Lita, the laid back Jesse, the resigned Kerri Ann, and the uptight Bryce all come to life on these pages. I was captivated from the moment I started reading.

The plot is moving, the setting is relaxing, the tension is executed wonderfully, and the descriptions are vivid and engaging. The characters are well-rounded and likable. I found myself, on several occasions, staying up way past my bedtime because I could not put the book down.

I have just recently started reading e-books – I resisted, positive that I would prefer an actual book over an electronic device (and I still would prefer a book but having a tablet with e-books comes in handy at times). My sons both received a tablet and naturally I started to play around with them once in awhile. Eventually, I downloaded one book just for something to do. I have since downloaded several more since then. This is the first book that if I had bought a print copy, I would not felt I wasted my money.

Have you read “Shoe Strings” by Christy Hayes? Have you read any of her other novels? Which is your favorite? Please leave me a comment. I love hearing from you.

