Tags

, , , , , , ,

Flickr friends

When you think about our friends, what is the first thing that pops into your mind? For many of you, it is the successful TV sitcom with the same name. When I think of my friends, it always brings a smile to my face. I have so many memories of the many friends I have come across in my life as I am sure you all have. There are so many kinds of friend – best friends, really good friends, friendly folks, and even casual acquaintances. I am blessed with many friends in every category.

I had two best friends in high school who I still keep in contact. Maybe not as often as before but we stay in contact. When I look back over my life, I realize I have had some amazing friends. Unfortunately, many, no, most of them I do not see or talk to anymore. But nonetheless I am grateful they were in my life. There are many, probably thousands of memories attached to all those friends.

There are a lot of responsibilities that come along with being a friend. A friend has to laugh with you, cry with you offer advice and encouragement, and sometimes just sit with you. They have to love and care about you even when you are at your worst. They have to overlook your bad moods and habits and listen to your rantings. They have to be understanding and empathetic.  That is a pretty tall order.

I believe friendship is the foundation of any good and long-lasting relationship even your spouse, significant other, or family member. There are antidotes on the internet that family is not always about blood, it is about love. Sounds like friendship to me. By the same token, someone can be family but not necessarily a friend.

Cover of "Cast Away (Widescreen Edition)&...

What would we do without our friends I, for one, would go stark raving made. There is a saying – No man is an island. Remember the movie “Castaway” with Tom Hanks? I cannot imagine living that way even for a short period of time without going completely crazy. There was an episode of Law & Order: SVU where Stabler is put into isolation for three days. At the end of the three days he is disoriented, angry, and a lunatic. And that is only three days.

We need our friends for our own sanity. So now our friends not only have all the responsibilities mentioned before but they also have to keep us sane.

Friends come in all sizes and shapes. They also come in many degrees of closeness from the friendly wave when you run into them to the one’s you count on when you think your life is over. They are ALL precious and I am grateful for every single one of them. They are the greatest gifts we receive.

Did you have a best friend growing up? Do you have one now? Please leave me a comment. I love hearing from you.

