Tags

, , , , , ,

The Abbott grocery store. Hill County, Texas

Grocery shopping is one of those chores that must be done every week or so. It is one of those chores that sometimes I dread doing, sometimes I enjoy doing, but most of the time it just something that needs to be done. If you are like me you go to the same grocery store every week. I actually have two I frequent on a regular basis. A ‘discount’ store and a ‘regular’ store.  And because I frequent these two stores often, I know exactly where everything is located in the store. I can go in, get what I want, and get out.

A couple of months ago, I walk into my discount store and everything is completely changed. I don’t think there was one single thing in the same place.  Maybe the freezer case was still basically the same. But even the refrigerator case was rearranged quite a bit, not everything but at least half. So on a trip that should have taken half an hour, I wandered around the store for an hour looking for everything on my list.

Why do stores do this? Is it better planning? Is it an upgrade? Or is it for profitability?  I believe the reason stores do this is because of shoppers like me. I learn where everything is and I go in, get what I want, and get out. Changing things around caused me to look at everything to find what I wanted. And I, of course, made several impulse purchases. Ding Ding. Ding. I think we have a winner. It is those impulse purchases increasing the stores profits.

There are a few items that I cannot buy at the discount store and I have to venture into a ‘regular’ grocery store.  I  am also a creature of habit and I buy the same things all the time. So the items I buy at the regular grocery store, I know where they are located. Until yesterday when I decide to make something I have not made in years and I need an item I only buy for this particular dish.

I head to the discount store with my grocery list with a couple dozen items and I wander around because I am still learning where things are located. (I am getting better!). But this particular item I never knew where it was located let alone where it is now. I eventually learn that my discount store does not carry this item. So I am off to the ‘regular’ grocery store and again I have to wander around because I am not sure where this item is located. I eventually found it in the second aisle I ventured down. There were actually two items I had to purchase at the ‘regular’ store but one I knew the discount store did not carry AND I knew where it was at the ‘regular’ store.

I am convinced the stores move things so that those of us who do not ‘wander’ around the store are forced to wander around the store hoping we will make impulse purchases. I am happy to announce that I made no impulse purchases despite all the extra wandering around I was forced to endure to buy one particular item. yea me! The impulse buy I made because it was in close proximity to the check out line doesn’t count, does it?

What is you opinion about why grocery stores are always rearranging the items in their stores? Please leave me a comment. I love hearing from you.

