Tags

, , ,

Kate Chopin in 1894

The Storm” by Kate Chopin is a very short story that was to be the sequel to her tale, “The Cadian Ball.” This piece was written in 1898 but was never actually published until 1969 in The Complete Works of Kate Chopin by Per Seyersted. It is a curious little story about a torrential downpour where dad and son are waiting out the storm in town at the general mercantile, mom is worried and waiting at home with a neighbor whose wife is out of town comes to comfort the mom through the storm.

The reason I said it was a curious story is because it is rather raunchy for the time period. It tickled me to read about an affair from a time period where morals and ethics were high regarded. I imagine a far amount of women would have blushed if they could have read it when it was written. I’m sure this piece would have been the subject of several church sermon’s on Sunday mornings. The fact that this was not published until 1969 – the era of free love – no one thought twice about this piece. What a difference a few years make.

I have not read anything else, yet, by Kate Chopin so I don’t know if “The Storm” is typical of her style. But I do intend to read more of her. First on the list is “At The Cadian Ball” which is the predessor of this short story.

Kate Chopin lived from 1850 to 1904. In her 54 years of life, she spent a relatively short time writing – about a decade. In this decade she wrote three novels, more than 150 stories and sketches, and a substantial body of poetry, reviews, and criticism. It is an amazing feat to accomplish so much in the literary world while raising six children on her own. That fact is amazing to me as I find it difficult to find time to write and I only have two kids. But my mom always told me – When there’s a will, there’s a way!

I am looking forward to reading other works by Kate Chopin. Have you read her work? What was your favorite piece? Please leave me a comment. I love hearing from you.

