Tags

, , , , , , ,

Cover of "The Bucket List"

The term ‘bucket list‘ became popular with the Jack Nicholson/Morgan Freeman movie in 2007 of the same name.  A bucket list has come to mean a list of things a person wants to do before he/she dies. How many of you have made your bucket list? I have not officially made my bucket list – I have never written anything down. I have found myself saying or thinking that something should go on my bucket list. So I have a mental bucket list.

So what are some things that are on your bucket list? I watched a show the other day where one of the guests said that swimming with dolphins was on her bucket list. My bucket list does not contain such things so adventurous. But maybe it should! I might have to think about that. The number 1 thing on my bucket list would be to have lunch – a long, leisurely lunch – with Steve Perry. Another thing I would like to do is sit on the beach with a gorgeous, sexy man (Steve Perry would work) and watch the sun set or rise – whichever. I also want to sit on that beach in my Adirondack chair with an umbrella drink working on my next novel.

Many of the things on my bucket list involve travel. I want to visit Australia (maybe Rick Springfield could be my tour guide!), Alaska, and Europe. Having grown up ‘in the country’ I would love to explore some of the big cities, New York, San Francisco, San Diego, Philadelphia, Dallas, Paris, London, Tokyo, Rio de Janeiro, and many others. I want to visit a real ranch. I want to eat at every Hard Rock Cafe.

I would love to appear on “What Not to Wear” to get a whole new wardrobe and learn how to shop for the best clothes for me. I want to own a powder blue ’64 Mustang. I also want to own and drive a purple car. The list could go on and on.

There is one thing that I want more than anything else in this world. I will forgo everything on my bucket list if I can just have this one thing – even the lunch with Steve Perry (Sorry Steve!). And that one thing is to see my oldest son become a Pro Bowler and my youngest son become a goalie for the Detroit Red Wings which are their current dreams. Of course, those dreams are subject to change without notice. The point is the only important thing on my bucket list is to see my children happy, healthy, and living their dreams.

sp70I am not giving up on the other things on my list – especially the lunch with Steve Perry – and I am constantly adding to that bucket list. Everyone should have a bucket list; we all need something to look forward to, something to work towards. It gives us a reason to get up every day, a reason to smile at the world and at your neighbor. Nobody has a perfect life but we all can make it the best we possibly can.

Every morning when you get out of bed, ask yourself ‘What can I do today to help my dreams come true?’  It is a wonderful tool – it keeps you focused and you don’t lose sight of that dream.

What kinds of things are on your bucket list? Please leave a comment with your thoughts and ideas. I love hearing from you.

 

