Tags

, ,

supreme happiness

Today we are travelling to the State of Happiness. Where exactly is that? You may have asked yourself, as I have asked myself, “how do I get there?” In the middle of my depression, I just wanted to be happy. Sounds simple, doesn’t it? One one hand it is that simple while on the other hand it is much harder than it seems.

First, it can be just that simple. You can make up your mind to be happy. We all have the ability to decide how we want to feel. Our mind is a very powerful tool and we have the ability to talk ourselves into feeling any way we want. If we choose to be happy, then we will be happy. If we choose to be angry or hurt or jealous, then we will be angry or hurt or jealous. And it really is that simple.

On the other hand, it can be difficult to know what will make us happy. I have asked myself many, many times what exactly would make me happy. I didn’t have an answer, I didn’t know what would make me happy. I wonder what things would need to happen in order for me to be happy. I still didn’t know. Which made me even more depressed. It seemed to be a vicious cycle.

So what is a person to do? Well I have to revert back to my first point. Just pretend you are happy. Refuse to be sad or depressed. Smile. For no reason, just smile. Make up your mind when you first wake up in the morning that you are happy and that you will have a great day.

What is the source of your happiness? For some people, it is the stuff they own, the work they do, or the people they know. Or maybe it is the combination of all those things. I am finding that my source of happiness comes from so many different places. My greatest source of happiness comes from my children – the look on their faces when they make the big tackle in a football game or get a new high score in bowling. Cuddling with them on the couch watching a movie and even refereeing an argument between the two of them.

Some other sources of happiness for me are listening to Steve Perry sing, eating buffalo wings and drinking a beer with friends, petting the stray cat who hangs around my apartment complex, the excitement on the kids’ face when the local sheriff hands out plastic badges, and feeling the wind in my hair as I drive with my windows down on a sunny day. I also find happiness getting lost in a good book, getting good grades on my essays in school, and writing these blog posts.

Smile fasdfdsfoiueire

The State of Happiness is in your mind. The road to take you there is a simple but sometimes difficult journey. But I am here to tell you that no matter how difficult the journey may be, it is one that you can make and it is so worth the effort.

What are some sources of your happiness. Please leave me a comment. I love hearing from you.

