Tags

, , , , ,

Positive-Thinking-Final-400x600I have some really exciting news today! My book, Positive Thinking: How I Turned My Life Around is now available in print. 🙂 I approved the proof yesterday and is immediately available at The CreateSpace bookstore. It will also be available at Amazon in “5-7 days” and many other places in “10-14 days.” I will announce these as they become available. 

With the exception of the birth of my kids, this is the best part of my life.  I have loved writing since high school. I especially loved the ‘creative writing’ assignments. I was always able to fill the space provided for an essay question. My theory was that I would give so much information that the right answer had to be in there somewhere.  After high school, I never explored writing as a career possibility. Why? I’m not really sure.

So here I am, more years than I care to count years later and I am finally realizing a dream I’m not sure I really ever knew I had. But as my mother would say, ‘Better late than never.’ And the really ironic part is that a rather devastating life event afforded me the opportunity to pursue this dream.

I used to be extremely negative about anything and everything.  I had totally given up and shut down.  If it were not for my kids, I really don’t know where I would be right now. But my kids were my inspiration, my motivation to turn my life around to a positive way of life. I wanted to teach my kids to be positive and the best way to do that is by example. Another of my mom’s famous quotes, ‘Actions speak louder than words.’

It took four years, really good friends, and a lot of Faith but I can honestly say that I have a positive outlook on life.  I still have moments but I think we all do, don’t we? There were many struggles, many times I really wanted to give up, many nights of crying until the sun started shining in my world.

I wrote this book for two reasons. First, it was therapy for me. It was my chance to sit down and see in black and white just how far I have really come. To see how different my life and my attitude is now than just four years ago.  One of the things that help my was keeping a journal. This book is my ultimate journal and will always be my reminder that anything is possible when you set your mind to it.

The other reason is because there is a lot of books and articles on the internet to tell you how to overcome depression and become a positive thinker.  There wasn’t anything I found that told of how someone actually put into practice all the recomendations and succeeded. I was the real life success story to all those suggestions to be a positive thinker.

The book is also available digitally on Amazon. I appreciate if you would check it out. Post a comment to let me know what you think.

