Tags

, , , , ,

Smoke

I have two long-standing addictions – Mt. Dew and smoking.  Well, actually three if you count writing. How does one actually go about quitting smoking? There are thousands of answers. There are pills, patches, hypnosis, acupuncture, substitutions, and good old fashioned will power. I don’t like taking pills (I have trouble remembering to take my scripts), patches, hypnosis and acupuncture are too expensive, especially when I am not 100% convinced that they will work.  Substitution? There is nothing like smoking a cigarette so there really is no substitution for it. And as far as good old fashioned will power – I don’t have that either.

I know people who have decided to quit, and they did.  They threw away their cigarettes and never looked back.  I have heard that others have used the pills and patches and have had some measure of success.  I have heard of people be hypnotized to quit smoking and they smoked on their way home. I have not heard from anybody who has had acupuncture done so I don’t know about that.

I have also heard that all these products will only work if you really want them to work. So if that were the case, if all you really need is the desire to quit then why do we need all these products.  I can only speak for myself, but I believe the reason is – we don’t really want to quit.  We think we should quit for health  and financial reasons.  But way down deep in the recesses of our soul, we just don’t really want to quit.

Almost 10 years ago, I quit smoking. I quit for exactly six months.  Then out of nowhere, the desire, that urge overtook my body and soul and I bought a pack of cigarettes.  And the really funny thing was that I became a closet smoker for the next few months. Eventually everyone found out that I was smoking again and I had to endured the ‘looks’ from all the non-smokers who just don’t understand.

Over the past couple of months I have seriously thought about quitting this unhealthy habit.  But…that is all the further I got – just thinking.  I would try to think of myself as a non-smoker, I would tell myself that I want to quit smoking, and I even thought I could reward myself with the money I would save but none of these ideas worked.  Because I don’t really want to quit.  I want to be healthier. I want to save money. But I don’t really want to quit smoking.

No Smoking - American Cancer Society's Great A...

However, my desire to be healthier and to save money is starting to catch up with my desire to smoke.  So I have come up with a compromise, of sorts. As of two days ago (8/28/2013) I no longer smoke in my house. My tentative plan is to not smoke in the house for awhile, then I will eliminate some other place where I smoke (car) or a certain time (after eating) until I am a non-smoker. At this point, this compromise is perfect for me because I am getting healthier and saving money because I am not smoking as much AND I still get the enjoyment of that cigarette – outside, of course.

How many have you quit smoking?  How did you do it? Please leave a comment about your experience.

