Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Music-musicListening to music has to be one of my favorite things to do. I listen to music as I fall asleep, when driving in my car, going for a walk, while I am doing housework, or when there is nothing on TV.  For those who know me or have read my other posts in this blog, my absolute favorite singer in the whole world is Steve Perry but you might be surprised to know that my favorite album in the whole world is “Bat Out Of Hell” by Meatloaf.  I have bought this album 5 times now – twice on vinyl, cassette, CD, and MP3 download. I know – or at least used to know – every word of every song on that album – including “Paradise by the Dashboard Light.”

Being an only child and growing up in what I considered the middle of nowhere, TV and music starts were some of my best friends.  As a kid, my allowance was spent on music but at that time it was vinyl record – both LP’s and 45 singles. (Did I just date myself or what?).  I had hundreds of LP’s and probably a thousand 45’s.  The problem was that I could only listen to those at home, in my room.  The greatest invention was the cassette tape and player because I could take them with me wherever I went.  I was in heaven.

musicnotesListening to music has many benefits. It gives us a way to express ourselves. For me it was through the lyrics – the gut-wrenching loss of a love, the romance of finding the perfect love, or just the silliness of having a good time.  For others, it was the pounding of the drums or the mastery of complex guitar sequences.  Music is different for each person.  Even the same song is different for everybody.

I read an article about how music can affect your mood.  If you listen to upbeat, happy music your mood will follow.  By the same token, when you listen to sad, heartbreaking music, your mood will also follow.  However, the biggest, and most surprising, benefit of listening to music is that it will lower your blood pressure.  And if you hum or sing along with the music, it will help even more.  So if you have high blood pressure, sing your little heart out. It can’t hurt.

musicnotesI have heard that music is the universal language. This is evident by the popularity of “Feliz Navidad” by Jose Feliciano at Christmas time and by the number of English speaking bands touring and becoming phenominal successes in non-English speaking countries.

So how often do you listen to music? Who is your favorite artist or band? If you were stranded on a deserted island and could only have one album with you, what would it be?  If I had to choose one, at this point in my life I would have to pick “For The Love of Strange Medicine” by Steve Perry.  I know I said that “Bat Out Of Hell” by Meatloaf is my favorite album, I just don’t know that I could live without ‘The Voice’ of Steve Perry.

