Tags

, , , , , , ,

TWW-000106Cher is the Goddess of Pop. Her career, spanning 50 years, is as strong now as it was in the 60’s when she started out with Sonny Bono.  She gained initial success with Sonny and their folksy brand of music.  In the early 70’s they found success in television with ‘The Sonny and Cher Comedy Hour.’  Cher’s outrageous outfits, sarcasm, comedic timing, and that sexy, sultry voice propelled the couple to the top of the ratings.

Cher has also starred in several movies – “Mask,” “Moonstruck,” and “Silkwood” to name a couple.  She has won almost every award imaginable including an Academy award, an Emmy award, a Grammy award and three Golden Globe awards.  Cher’s first solo album “Stars” is still my favorite album of hers.  I still have the vinal record and play it once in awhile.

As a child, Cher dreamed of being famous.  She didn’t know how, thinking she could not sing or dance, she just knew she would be famous.  Cher has realized that dream, and I nimagine, has gone far beyond those dreams.  Cher has remained in the entertainment industry not only with her extraordinary singing but with acting, directing, and producing.  Cher was and still is a unique, one-of-a-kind human being.

I remember watching ‘The Sonny and Cher Comedy Hour.’  I became infatuated with Cher.  Not so much with her singing (although I do love her voice) but with her attitude and her unique style.  The first thing I noticed about Cher was her extremely long, shiny, black hair.  My parents made me keep my hair rather short until I was about 14 or so.  So when I first seen Cher on TV, I had immediate hair envy.  (Crystal Gayle also made me drool).

I also loved her sarcasm, her guts to be as outrageous as she wanted, and  her ability to pull it all off.  Being a Catholic school student where we wore uniforms and everybody looked like everybody else, I was drawn to her uniqueness and being able to stand out from the crowd.  I loved her one-of-a-kind look.

cher-starsI remember sitting in my room with my record player and my 45rpm records of “Dark Lady,” “Gypsys Tramps & Thieves,” and “Half-Breed” learning every word and trying to sound just like Cher.  I tried to get my voice to sound like hers, I wanted every nuance that made Cher, Cher.  Of course, that is impossible but I spent many hours trying.  I did buy Cher’s first solo album, “Stars” and I again sat by my record player and learned every word of every song.  Again I tried to make my voice sound just like hers.   Beyond those early hits, I have not followed her music to closely.  I love a couple of her other songs – “Just Like Jesse James,” “If I Could Turn Back Time,” and “Is There Life After Love.”

I may not have always been a big fan of Cher’s throughout her career. I do admire her strength of character.  I respect her for doing things her own way and not caving in to the ‘norm.’  I admire that she is still going strong after 50 years in this business.  Cher is…well Cher.  Enough said.

Cher‘s music and movies can be found at Amazon.com.  She also has a page on facebook where you can follow her.

