Tags

, , , , , , ,

Mac DavisMac Davis is at the top of my favorites list.  Mac is a versatile entertainer.  He has entertained us with his songwriting, singing, and acting.  He had a variety TV show in the 70’s where a member of the audience would make up a song title and Mac would come up with a little song on the spot.  Who else would or could do that? 

Mac started his career as a songwriter.  He wrote songs for Elvis (“In The Ghetto,” Memories,” A Little Less Conversation”) and Bobby Goldsboro (“Watching Scotty Grow”).  Mac decided to record his own songs and grew to crossover stardom with his No. 1 hit “Baby, Don’t Get Hooked On Me.”  As I mentioned, Mac had his own variety show called (wait for it!) The Mac Davis Show which aired from 1974-1976.  I watched that show faithfully every week.  He always has such a mischievous grin and sparkling eyes that seemed to laugh with him.  He always seemed so nice and he was funny with just a hint of the devil in him.  AND he could sing!!

It is with much regret that I have not seen Mac perform in person.  I have been in the same city where he was performing twice but did not know it until it was too late.  The first time, I was on vacation with my parents and we drove through Las Vegas where Mac was performing at the MGM Grand.  I beg my parents to stop and spend the night in Vegas so we could go to his performance.  They wouldn’t do it.  I even offered my allowance for the next year if they would stop so we could go.  No go.

The second time was many years later – I don’t know exactly how much later but probably 10 years or so.  My cousin and I were visiting New York City.  While exploring the Big Apple, we walked past the marquee advertising Mac Davis performing in the musical The Will Rogers Follies. I asked my cousin if she would go with me – I would even buy her ticket.  She said she would.  I made a bee-line to the box office but…the only performance that I would be in town for was sold out.  I was devastated.  I was then told that there was some kind of ticket place down the street that might have extra tickets.  But, of course, they did not.  I kicked myself hundreds of times for not knowing before that he would be there and getting tickets in advance. 

So here it is 40-something years after I first discovered the music of Mac Davis and I still have not seen him perform.  It just doesn’t seem fair.  The really sad part of this is that my mom told me a story about a co-worker.  She was flying to Los Angeles.  She was talking to the man in the seat next to her when he finally asked her if she ever heard of Mac Davis.  She said she had – there were several of his jewelry stores around town (Max Davis Jewelers).  Mac never said another word about it but continued the conversation till they reached LA.  Now that really is not fair.  I think I am going to have to dust off the old turn table and take a walk down memory lane – just me and Mac.

You can find all things Mac Davisat the Amazon.com store.

