Tags

, , ,

meatloafMarvin Lee Aday, otherwise known as Meat Loaf, recorded one of the best selling albums of all time.  His Bat Out Of Hell album has sold over 43 million copies worldwide.  Thirty-five years after its original release, it is estimated that this notorious album still sells approximately 200,000 annually. 

Bat Out of Hell is my all time favorite album.  I listened to this album so many times that I knew every word to every song – even Paradise By The Dashboard Light.  I knew Meat Loaf’s part, I knew the girl’s part, and I knew the background singers’ part.  I received the vinyl record for Christmas.  I spent the rest of the day in my bedroom playing that album, both sides, over and over and over. 

I have since bought another vinyl record, a cassette tape and a CD of this album.  And just recently (within the past year) I have downloaded this album onto my mp3 player. 

I have been extremely fortunate enough to have seen Meat Loaf in concert – twice.  The first time was after the Bat Out Of Hell album.  The out-of-control success of the album had died off some.  He played in a small nightclub, Glass City Boardwalk, around the country corner from my house.  It literally was just barely over a mile from my house.  I bought tickets as soon as they were on sale.  When I looked at the seating chart to pick my tickets, there were only 4 seats in my row.  I remember feeling bad that he had to play such a small venue after such enormous popularity of that album.  The response to this concert announcement, however, was overwhelming and by the time we actually went to concert, the seating arrangements expanded so much that there were now 10 seats in my row.

The response to a Meat Loaf concert more than exceeded any and all expectations – of the nightclub owner, the local media, and the fans, well at least this fan anyway. This mighty man came onto a rather small stage and just blew me away.  He poured every ounce of himself into every one of his songs.  He performed, he did not just sing, he performed.  He gave us perfection an expected perfection from the other performers on stage with him.  They all delivered.  He was on stage for 2-1/2 hours, sang every song from the Bat Out Of Hell album, and created the most memorable concert I have ever experienced.

I believe it was Maya Angelou who said that we may not remember what someone did, we may not remember what someone said, but we will remember how they made us feel.   I don’t remember a lot of the details of the concert but I do remember that I was completely awed by this concert.  There has not been a concert before or since that has remained so vivid in my memories.

After the release of his Bat Out Of Hell II: Back Into Hell album, he once again hit the road with a grueling concert tour schedule.  I once again was fortunate enough to attend.  This time, though, it was at a little larger venue about a 90 minute drive from my house.  The ticket also cost 2-1/2 times more than it did the first time.  But it was worth it.   I still saw an extraordinary performance in which Meat Loaf put every ounce of himself on the stage for 2-1/2 hours delivering another experience that could only be topped by the first Meat Loaf concert I attended.  The only reason the first concert in the small nightclub in the middle of nowhere is better is because I was not expecting such a performance from a man who at the time was on a downhill road.  The second concert, I expected to be blown away.  And I was.

There is a third album in the Bat Out Of Hell trilogy, Bat Out Of Hell III: The Monster Is Loose.  This album, along with all things Meat Loaf, is available at the Amazon.com store

