Tags

,

The_ThinkerIt is something we all do.  And we do it every day.  Sometimes we try not to think, we try to forget but we cannot. Thinking controls our lives, it controls everything we say and do.  It controls our moods, our emotions.  What do you think?

I think our brains are a truly amazing and mysterious organ in our bodies.  Many studies have been done to figure out exactly how our brains work.  After years of research, thousands of test subjects, and countless hours of analysis, we are still not sure.  However, there is a consensus that we can control our moods, our attitude, and circumstances by what we think.

We can choose how we feel at any given time.  Sounds simple, doesn’t it?  Well it is not.  But it can be done.  It takes a huge commitment and a lot of hard work.  You will fall down but you just have to get back up and try again.  Trust me, it will work.  Maybe not over night but it will work.

I have a quick story about thinking.  I was a temp working for an engineering firm that was overseeing a construction project at a factory.  My job was to assist the project manager during the construction.  We worked from a small trailer placed inside the factory.  My work area was at one end of the trailer with a large window above my work table.  There was always activity within my view.  This particular day, I was sitting at my desk watching the factory workers doing their jobs.  Just watching.  Then my boss snuck up on me and asked what I was doing.  Startled, I looked up at him and replied “ummm thinking.”  He smiled, shook his head, said ok, and walked away.  He was a great boss, I enjoyed working with him.

We hear many people say that you have to think positively.  Drive those negative thoughts out of your mind.  But exactly how do we do that?  How do we override past experience?   How do we go against the only thing we have ever known?  The first thing to do is make up your mind that you want to change.  And really believe that you can and will change.  ‘They’ say that whatever we think, what we believe will happen, our mind will make it happen.

If we look at those people we consider successful we will find that they were positive thinkers.  They believed they were going to be successful and they were.  It does not matter if success is measured by their bank account, respect from the community, their popularity, or their happiness.  This is not to say that they did not run into road blocks along their journey, that they did not encounter nay-sayers who tried to de-rail their progress but they believed they would be successful and figured out a way around the obstacles.  They believed.  They would think positively.  They succeeded.

My parents were negative people.  I had no choice to become a negative thinker as well.  As an only child who grew up in the middle of nowhere (it seemed that to me, anyway) I had plenty of time to think about things.  I had plenty of time to read – mostly about celebrities who seemed to have it all.  I had plenty of time to watch TV and movies about people who were successful.  It has taken many, many years but I have finally changed my negativity into a positive attitude.

Let me tell you that everything ‘they’ say about thinking positive, is absolutely true. It is not an easy thing to do; it has been one of the hardest things I have done.  There were many times that I slipped back into those negative thoughts.   Many times I believed this would never work.  But I kept trying, kept starting over.  I still have moments, but they are getting fewer and further in between.  But it can and will happen.  Just think positively.

