Tags

, , , ,

Nashville_TNNashville is the home of country music.  It is the home of the Grand Ole Opry, the Wild Horse Saloon, the Country Music Hall of Fame and all things country.  But it is also the home of the professional football team, Tennessee Titans, Hard Rock Café, River Boat Cruises, fine dining, awesome BBQ’s, and many things un-country.  Songs have been written about Nashville including “16th Avenue” by Lacy J. Dalton, “Crazy Town” by Jason Aldean, and “Nashville Skyline Rag” by Bob Dylan.

I have been to Nashville five times in my life time.  The first time was with my parents.  We pulled our travel trailer and camped in a local campground.  I don’t remember the name of it but I do remember all the roads were named after country music stars.  We camped on Dolly Parton Lane.  We did all the typical tourist things – went to a performance of the Grand Ole Opry, The Country Music Hall of Fame, paddle boat river cruise, and shopping for all the Nashville souvenirs.  The second time, we (my parents and I) took my grandma with us and we stayed in a hotel.  Again we did all the tourist things including taking a bus tour of the stars’ homes.  We seen Web Pierce’s guitar shaped swimming pool, Reba McIntire’s million dollar horse barn, and Lee Greenwood’s modest home.  We also traveled the road where Barbara Mandrell had her horrible car crash.  I believe we also went to Twitty City and seen Johnny Cash’s “One Piece At A Time” car.

Those first 2 times in Nashville, I had to go because I was young and my parents made me go.  As I got older, I started visiting the Hard Rock Café’s and when I learned there was one in Nashville of all places, I planned a trip.  This time was with my mom and my cousin.  I had heard about the Wild Horse Saloon and thought I should learn how to line dance before going to Nashville.  I took line dancing lessons and was excited about line-dancing at the Wild Horse Saloon.  So the three of us drive all night to Nashville, check into our hotel, and venture out to explore the city.  We eat lunch at the Hard Rock Café (the main reason for our trip), do some shopping (okay a lot of shopping), and finally head to the Wild Horse Saloon so I can do at least one line dance.  There is a line outside of the Saloon.  We wait.  This is a once in a lifetime experience.  We finally get to the front of the line and we are told that because I have a sleeveless shirt on, I cannot go in.  They have a policy.  But….I could buy one of their Wild Horse Saloon t-shirts.  Well, that just didn’t sit right with me, so I refused to buy a shirt, just on general principles.  We left and went back to our hotel room.  So after several months of line-dancing lessons so that I could do one dance in the Wild Horse Saloon was for nothing.  I didn’t go back and I never have line-danced at the Wild Horse Saloon. 

Wild Horse SaloonNow I don’t want to put a bad light on the Wild Horse Saloon, the gentleman at the door was just doing his job and I now understand that they have rules for a reason.  I respect that.  At the time, I was extremely hot and extremely tired.  If the opportunity would arise again, I would gladly visit the Wild Horse Saloon.  I would even take line-dancing lessons (do people still line-dance?) in order to line-dance to at least one song.  So if you are ever in Nashville, please do stop by and check them out.  Then let me know what I missed.

