Tags

, , ,

sp214The thing to do this week is going to a concert.  I have had to good fortune to attend some awesome concerts.  Although, it does pain me to admit, I have not been to a Journey concert with Steve Perry as the lead singer nor have I gotten to see him in concert on his solo tours.   I did see the Journey concert that was part of ‘The Blue Jean Network’ TV show and I have the DVDs of the concert from Houston TX and Japan.  I do watch both quite often.

Anyways, going to a concert with friends is an experience you will never forget. Some of the artists that I have had the good fortune to see live in concert are Bob Seger, Rick Springfield, Bryan Adams, Travis Tritt and Marty Stuart, Lee Greenwood, REO Speedwagon, America, and Billy Squire.  These concerts were excellent times and I can tell you a story about each and every one of them.

meatloafThe most amazing concert I ever went to was a man who had a huge hit with one album – he had made several before but this one skyrocketed.  He became a household name.  After a long ride on top, sales and radio air-time started to slip.  I still loved the album and also listened to it A LOT (I have actually bought that album 4 times now – 2 on vinyl, 1 cassette, and 1 CD).  I can’t keep you in suspense any longer.  This amazing concert was Meatloaf.

The ’Bat Out of Hell’ album skyrocketed on the album charts while ‘Two Out of Three Ain’t Bad’ did the same thing on the singles chart.  After a long ride on the top of the charts, sales and radio air-time started to slip as they always do.  Meatloaf faded from the spot light.  Then, out of the blue I found out that Meatloaf was going to play at a night club that was literally a mile and a half from my house.  I bought tickets the minute they went on sale – got 4th row tickets.

The night of the concert, my friend and I arrived appropriately early.  All the tables and chairs from the nightclub had been removed and replaced with folding chairs lined up in rows.  The nightclub sold more tickets than they had originally anticipated.  There were many, many more chairs than were on the floor plan when I bought my tickets.  The nightclub was packed and people were all buzzing in anticipation of the upcoming concert.

Finally, it was time.  Meatloaf came out on the make shift stage in this small nightclub.  He burst into song right away and never stopped for the next 2-1/2 hours.  He sang every song from the ‘Bat Out Of Hell’ album and many others.   Everyone was enthralled with his performance.  He put every ounce of his being into each and every song.  Not only did he sing every song, he acted them out.  You felt like every song was window into his soul and he vividly relived each memory in front of us. 

I have heard it said that you don’t have to be a great singer if you know how to put on a great show.  Meatloaf is a great singer AND knows how to put on a great show.

I seen Meatloaf in concert again after the ‘Bat Out Of Hell II: Back Into Hell’ album was released.  Even though I paid 2-1/2 times the price of the first concert for this concert, it was more than worth the cost. 

Meatloaf’s ‘Bat Out Of Hell’ and ‘Bat Out Of Hell: Back Into Hell’ as well as his other albums are available at www.amazon.com.

