Tags

, , , , ,

foxworth hallFoxworth Hall is the prison home of Chris, Cathy, Carrie, and Cory Dollanganger in the best selling bookFlowers in the Attic” by V. C. Andrews. It is also the utmost object of desire for Malcolm Foxworth – the grandfather to the imprisioned children.  As he says, “It’s over one hundred and fifty years old. There’s history in it everywhere. Sometimes I feel as if I am in a museum; sometimes I feel as if I am in a church. It’s the wealthiest home in our area of Virginia. But I want it to be the wealthiest in the country, maybe even the world. I want it to be known as the Foxworth castle.” It is located in the Blue Ridge Mountains an hour from Charlottesville, VA.

I don’t know about all of you but from the description of Foxworth Hall throughout the 5-book series, I would need a map to navigate the many rooms and wings of this ‘family home.’  My whole apartment would probably fit into the bedroom that served as the prison of Chris, Cathy, Carrie, and Cory. I am not complaining because I just don’t need nor want that much room.  However, I am envious of their library.  I would love, love, love to have a library in my apartment. Bookshelves would cover three walls – floor to ceiling.  The forth wall would have a bay window with a comfortable seat to read a book or stare at Mother Nature. I also want a desk, a large comfy couch, a frig, and a microwave so that I would never have to leave that room.

The above pictures are of the house that was Foxworth Hall in the movie version of “Flowers in the Attic.”  If you visit the Andrews website, there are more pictures along with floor plans of the house and grounds.  It is quite impressive.  The house is actually part of the Crane Estate in Ipswich, MA and is open for tours. According to the Complete V. C. Andrews website, it is highly recommended to visit the Crane Estate not only for the Andrews connection but as the piece of American history.

Foxworth Hall is grand, elegant, and the envy of the neighbors.  It is also a prison and not just for the four youngest members of the family. It is beautiful, well-maintained, and a psychological battlefield.  It is host to the annual Christmas Eve ball and the conniving strategy of obtaining wealth and control. It is….Foxworth Hall.

Have you read the full Dollanganger series?  Which book, if any, was your favorite?  Have you read other V.C. Andrews novels?  Leave me a comment.

